Günter Marx















Private Photo


Vita – Classical Music 

                                                                                     Deutsche Version

1943            born in Graz

1964–69      Studies with Max Rostal at the Cologne Musikhochschule

1969–72      Kassel – 3rd concertmaster in the Kassel State Theatre Orchestra

1972–75      Hagen – 1st concertmaster (Hagen Municipal Orchestra)

1975–2008  Dortmund – 1st concertmaster (Dortmunder Philharmoniker)

since 2008   Munich – freelance


Concerts as a soloist (with piano or orchestra) in Cologne, Stuttgart, Hagen, Lüdenscheid, Amsterdam, Dortmund, Dresden, Düsseldorf, Bochum, Essen, Iserlohn, Recklinghausen and with the 1st Violin Concerto by K. Szymanowski in Dortmund and Lancaster PA (USA).


Audio samples:

Emil Bohnke: Solo Sonata (1923)     

René Leibowitz: Impromptu f. Solo violin (ca. 1971)

K. M. Komma: "Méditation sur Asch" for solo violin (1983)

L. Janáček: Violin Sonata (1921)

Mozart: Rondo C major KV 373

Schubert: Rondo A major D. 438

Mátyás Seiber: Fantasia concertante (1944)

K. Szymanowski: 1st Violin Concerto (1916)



Furthermore tours with the Mendelssohn Trio Hamburg, the Brahms Quartet Hamburg, Leonardo Quartet Cologne and several other ensembles in Spain, Poland, Italy, France, Denmark, the Netherlands, Belgium, Austria, Bosnia and South America.


Radio recordings with almost all German radio stations, Radio France, ORF (Austria) and RAI (Italy).



As an editor:

Breitkopf & Härtel published his edition of Fanny Hensel's string quartet, based on the autograph from the Berlin State Library.